MAGB AGM & Annual Event 2018

MAGB AGM & Annual Event 2018



The Annual General Meeting of the Maltsters' Association of Great Britain was held on Tuesday 6th November 2018. On conclusion of official business Maltsters welcomed their guests for coffee before the Chairmans' welcome.


Our guest presenter this year was Dr Bill Thomas from The James Hutton Institute who spoke very knowledgably about plant breeding, genetics and the International Barley Hub. View here

Following thre presentations a reception was held where members and their guests enjoyed some fine beers supplied by a selection of brewers.


This year the Annual Luncheon saw 78 members and guests of the malting industry dine in the beautiful historic surroundings of the Armourers’ Hall in London.


A different beer was served to complement each course of the meal again supplied by  different brewers including Hall & Woodhouse.

The meal was then rounded off with a range of fine Scotch Whiskies provided by Distiller Maltsters Highland Distillers Plc and  Diageo Scotland Ltd.


Following conclusion of the meal there were several presentations with the Chairman, Mr Simpson, starting proceedings by introducing Louie Warburton-Lee, Macpherson Trustee, who explained what the Macpherson Trust represents and the work it does.  She went on to present the Quaich to Calum Ritchie, Bairds Malt Ltd, for gaining a distinction in the General Certificate of Malting (GCM) this year.
Calum Ritchie, Bairds Malt Ltd receving the Quaich
from Louie Warburton-Lee, Macpherson Trustee

Mr Simpson went on to introduce our guest speaker Nicholas King, President of Euromalt, who explained the function of Euromalt  touching on Brexit from a European perspective. View here

On conclusion of his address the Chairman thanked Mr King for an interesting, if a little controversial address that sparked questions from some guests.  He then concluded the day’s business by thanking everyone for their support over the year and looked forward to his next year in office.


Mr Nicholas King, President of Euromalt